New Favorite Products…

All summer long I’ve been sporting a wash and go hairstyle. I started the summer using the Kinky-Curly product line which worked great. The problem came when I ran out of the Knot Today conditioner. After visiting three stores that carried the product line in my area only to find that all three were sold out, I thought about ordering online. However I hate waiting for products to ship to me. So I did a bit of research online an came a cross a vlog comparing Kinky-Curly line to regular drug store products and a styling gel called Eco Styler. The curlygirl that did the vlog had great results. So I struck out to my local drug store and found a jar of the Eco Styler Olive Oil Gel and the price allowed me to indulge in a being a little bit of a product junkie. So I picked up a jar. On my way out I also noticed two other products. Suave Professionals Almond and Shea Butter Conditioner and Nature’s Gate Herbal Daily Conditioner. So I took the bait and picked up all three products.

So here’s what I did when I got home. I co-washed with the Suave Professonals Almond and Shea Butter Conditioner (which felt great on my hair), used the Nature’s Gat Herbal Conditoner Mixed with Coconut Milk as a deep conditioner (left in for 1 hour) and used my old faithful Herbal Essences Hello Hydration as a leave in rinsing just a little to evenly distribute. Using a white t-shirt I wrapped my hair for about 20 minutes to soak up extra moisture and to help my hair dry faster. I then applied the Eco Styler Gel in small sections. The results? My curls came to life just the way I wanted them to, organized chaos. I finished my style by flat twisting the front of my hair into a hair band to create a fun, funky, summertime style. With this combination of products, I was able to stretch the style out to three days. I sleep with a satin bonnet and in the morning I mist my hair with purified water and fluff, then off I go.

I really like the results with the EcoStyler Olive Oil Gel. Not only does it work well with just about any conditioner under, it’s pretty easy to find, costs under $5 per jar, its alcohol fee and dries without flaking. I admit I was a little skeptical because of the price. I actually paid $2.49 for my jar and didn’t think it would work at all, but it worked just as well as the Kinky-Curly line.  Don’t get me wrong I do love the Kinky-Curly line, but the only downside is that the products are made to work with each other leaving very little room (if any at all) for other products and it’s hard to get my hands on it in my area. I’ve tried using other conditioners under the Kinky-Curly Curling Custard and ended up with chunks of white sticky goo in my hair. Not cute. So looks like EcoStyler is my go too until I can get my hands on more Kinky-Curly products.

 Here are a few pics of the final results. The first three pics (after the picture of the products used) are of my hair on day one, the next  two are of day two hair and the final pic (with flower in hair) is of third day hair pic.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Not bad huh?

Later!

KinkySheaPT

Leave a Reply

