Flax Seed Gel??

This week I started school. One of the first things I saw on campus was a fellow curly. She was sporting a fabulous teenie weenie afro in a wash and go style and had beautiful ringlets. Of course I had to stop her, compliment her and ask her to dish  on her products. We pretty much used the same conditioners to co wash with but she brought up something new to me.  To style her wash and go she used homemade flax seed gel.  Her curls were glossy and super soft with no sign of flakes, but what really caught my attention was that she was sporting 4th day hair. Her curls looked like she’d just styled them that morning. Sometimes, if I am careful,  I can pull of 4 day old curls with my Eco Styler Gel, but flaxseed gel sounds like it would be healthier for hair. Flax seed is full of nutrients such as Omega-3 Fatty Acids, Vitamin B,  fiber,  and a host of other nutrients . So what happens when nutrients are applied to the hair as well as ingested (I love muffins with flax seeds!)? Well, I figured I’d give the gel a try. Here’s the recipe I found on one of my favorite sites FromNaturewithLove.com (this is also a great site to order ingredients if you like to make your own products):

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp Whole Flax Seeds
1 cup water
Pure Aloe Vera Gel, if desired
Few drops of essential oil for scent

Instructions:

Bring water to a boil. Stir the seeds into the water and reduce heat. Simmer for about 10 minutes, stirring constantly, until a gel-like lotion is formed. Strain through a fine strainer or cheesecloth into a small bottle. Add essential oils and store in the refrigerator for up to 1 week. If desired, you can add some pure aloe vera gel for its moisturizing properties. Fill the bottle with flax seed gel until bottle is about 3/4 full, then fill to the top with pure aloe vera gel. Gel will not flake or make the hair hard or crunchy. Safe to use everyday.

I’ve seen several variations of this recipe. Some call for 1/2-1 cup of flaxseed. I’ll have to play with it a bit to see what my hair likes more. I’ll take a shot at this Friday and style with it Saturday. Sunday, I’ll be back with a full review, with pictures and a much over due length check. We’ll see how it goes!

Later!

Leave a Reply

